You see – good things do happen!

I like to see good things when they come along and thats why I was especially pleased when I saw an open invitation to sign up for Mothfood at www.mothfood.com . Its a complete community for vintage clothing enthusiasts – buyers and sellers. Its a vintage fashion search engine, a directory, a blog, a forum, and a Tweet feed. Not bad for one site in my view – an inclusive community.

What really impresses me most of all though is the fact that Mothfood really is open to all.  You apply to register, they check to see that you really are who you say you are, and then you are in – which is better than being ‘out’ as other vintage seller directories I can think of are either some kind of closed shop or what amounts to little more than a list of someone’s buddies. They miss the point of a seller directory and they miss it by a mile. A directory consisting of a select few is like saying to a buyer “I have chosen who you will buy from and I have chosen who you won’t buy from”.  Would you stand for someone saying that the next time you are shopping for yourself up town? No, thats right – you wouldn’t, presumably. Mothfood offers more and more buyer choice with every dealer that it signs up – and dealers are signing up all the time.

I can only admire Mothfood for having a refreshingly healthy approach to supporting all vintage fashion sellers, whoever they are. That’s why I am happy to nail my colours to the mast in support of someone who supports me and gives choice back to the buyer.  Good luck to Mothfood!

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to You see – good things do happen!

Leave a comment